The Weight

As a perfectionist, I find it so hard to be okay with things going “wrong”. I want so hard to live the perfect life, and I have to admit that I have been known to condemn those who live around me in imperfection. This was especially true among those whom I love most. I can’t tell you how many times I have wanted to bash someone’s head against a wall for their parenting techniques or life-choices. The day I determined that it was not up to me, and furthermore that in the eyes of my Lord, I am no better than those people was a changing one for me.

I must admit, that realization was a HARD pill for me to swallow. I have lived my life for 23 years trying to be perfect, even though I know I will fail, and I found myself belittling those around me who make different choices than those I would choose. That is hard to admit. It makes me look like the worst person. I stumbled across this quote that said, “Don’t judge others just because they sin differently than you do.” Easy to say, but harder to do.

It has been such a true process for me; learning how to truly accept that my sins are equal to others. Although I may base the severity of my sins on the views of the world around me, the true judge could put my sins on the scale against my worst enemy, and they would weigh the same. All my life I have wanted to be better than those around me. Not better as in a snobby brat, but just better in my actions. The Bible says it is no use. I have started a wonderful bible study by Angela Thomas titled Stronger, in which she says, “We do not earn His love because we have finally become enough. We are not disqualified from His love because we could never be enough.” In other words, NONE of us could ever be enough. We’re all sinners, therefore all equal.

We, as a society, have become so wrapped up in our social laws that rank the severity of crime and punish accordingly that we forget that TODAY we are equal in the eyes of God. God knows everything. I don’t have to waste time trying to let him see my good deeds and pointing out the shortcomings of my fellow man. When Christ died for us we were in no state to deserve it. Romans 5:6-8 says that we were “weak and rebellious and of no use to Him.” Although we were in no way ready to change our ways for Him, God sacrificed His son for me and you. To this Ms. Thomas says, “You do not send your Only Son for the ones you like just a little. You send your Only Son because of love.” It is only through love that we will succeed. Not through judgment or pointing fingers or trying to be better than those around us. It doesn’t work, and in the end it will all be for nothing.

I will leave you today with this Scripture that speaks to my heart, “In your anger, do not sin. Do not give the devil a foothold. Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up.” Ephesians 4:26-29

2 thoughts on “The Weight

  1. Vicky says:

    It always amazes me how mature you have become. Never have I been prouder of you than when I finished reading your blog today. Always live your life guided by His Word, Libby, and you will always be blessed.

    • I appreciate your kind words. I am trying hard to be the best person I can, and I have learned so much in the last year. I thank you for always being there for me, and I am honored to make you proud.

Leave a Reply

